Walnut Cake

Thought I ‘d try Carla Hall’s recipe for her Walnut Cake, caught it on a day time tv program called the Chew, a program I do like but since I next to never watch day time t.v.  miss it most of the time, except this one day when Carla was demonstrating this cake recipe.  Lucky me!

So easy to put together and  it is everything they -the rest of the Chew Crew, Mario Batalli, Micheal Symon, et al.- raved about. So moist and very tender and DELICIOUS. This is an absolute keeper for me. I know it will be for you too!

Walnut Cake

1 cup Walnuts

1-1/4 cup Cake Flour

1/2 tsp Cinnamon

2 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Salt

1/2 cup Butter

1 cup Sugar

3 eggs

2 tsp Vanilla

1/2 Orange Zest

1 Tbls Maple Syrup

3/4 cup Buttermilk

Powdered Sugar for dusting the finished cooled cake

In a food processor grind the walnuts and the 1/4 c cake flour till finely ground. Remove and set aside in a bowl. Add the Cinnamon, Salt, and Baking Powder. Mix together.

In the cleaned out processor put the butter and sugar in and pulse until well combined and fluffy, about 1 minute.

Add in the Eggs,Vanilla, Zest, and Maple Syrup.

Now add in the walnut /flour mix,  pulsing to combine.

Drizzle in the Buttermilk continuing to  process until just combined.

Pour into a prepared 9″ cake pan and bake at 350′ for 45-50 minutes.

Turn out to cool. When cold dust with Powdered sugar.

  • So my food processor was on the small side I noticed by the time I was to add in the nut/flour to the butter and eggs, so I left the nut /flour mix in the bowl and added the ‘wet’ ingredients to it and whisked to combine.
  • I also didn’t read the recipe through to the end – shameful- before starting, which meant I threw in the buttermilk the same time as the eggs, maple syrup and vanilla. Drizzling in didn’t happen for me- but it still came out stupendously!

You will Love this cake! 

One Comment Add yours

  1. chefkreso says:

    Yummy! love different walnut cakes 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

