Pancakes!

Who does not love drool over stacks of tender, buttery, maple dripping  pancakes?  Nobody that’s who. I can devour a plateful no problem and eat the one my husband seems to never finish, because I give him a stack as big as mine, and even though he’s six foot two, he can’t eat as much as I do. Ok I’m a pig. No, I just LOVE PANCAKES!

In my recipe I use buttermilk, if no buttermilk is handy I’ll use yogurt, if I have neither of those but have milk I’ll always sour the milk with some vinegar. It just makes a better pancake. That’s why Baking soda is included here in the recipe, the acid in the buttermilk (or vinegar/yogurt) reacts with the B.S. to give the pancake its fluffy lightness and lift.

And they are delicious!

img_8090

I love to pair pancakes up with fresh or frozen fruit, in the photo above fresh gala apples and walnuts sautéed together in a bit of butter and cinnamon. If I have frozen berries I heat them in a saucepan with a splash of  lemon juice and cook until the juice is juicy. Then spoon the warm fruit and its juice over and pour on some maple syrup, oooh, all running together over buttered hot cakes. Oh my.  

Or add some sugar (or any sweetener of choice) and cook that in with the fruit and you’ve got a delicious fruit sauce, sans maple syrup.

 

15036517_10154512006495733_268324393863549499_n

I do use only pure maple syrup, being Canadian and all, sacrilege not to, and when my kids- Ha, kids listen to me, they’re 36 this year, but what would I call them, my adults?- Anyway, when they come it is THE RULE that cream cheese syrup is served with the pancakes. What is this you ask? It’s The Bomb for waffles, french toast, and of course pancakes.

It’s a blend of cream cheese whizzed up with maple syrup and served warm….mmmmm. When my daughter was young and we were living in Victoria we would go to a restaurant downtown called Johns Place on Saturday mornings and have their big fresh waffles, and this syrup came with it. I replicated it at home, and yes it is that simple, cream cheese and maple syrup. Been making it ever since. You’ll never go back to Aunt Jemima.

15068515_10154512011425733_2726970745881328303_o

Buttermilk Pancakes

1 cup flour

1 teaspoons Baking Powder

1/4 teaspoon Baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons sugar

1 egg

3/4 to 1 cup buttermilk (more if batter is too thick)

2 tablespoons melted butter

 

15069138_10154512008545733_2933540796088040253_o

Nom, nom, nom…..

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

